South Africa

South Africa is located at the southern tip of the African continent. South Africa shares borders with Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, and Mozambique to the north. Swaziland, which is found in the east side of South Africa, is encircled by South Africa and Mozambique. Lesotho is small country which is located inside South Africa. Two small islands, Prince Edward and Marion, lie about 1,920 kilometres southeast of Cape Town and are controlled by South Africa.


Population: 54.3 million
Ethnic Groups: Black African (80.2%), White (8.4%), Coloured (8.8%), Indian/Asian (2.5%)
Languages: South Africa has 11 official languages as follows: IsiZulu (22.7%), IsiXhosa (16%), Afrikaans (13.5%), English (9.6%), Sepedi (9.1%), Setswana (8%), Sesotho (7.6%), Xitsonga (4.5%), siSwati (2.5%), Tshivenda (2.4%), isiNdebele (2.1%), Sign language (0.5%), Other (1.6%)
Religions: Protestant (36.6%), Catholic (7.1%), Muslim (1.5%), other Christian (36%), Other (2.3%), Unspecified (1.4%), None (15.1%)
Capital: Pretoria
CIA: The World Factbook - Last Updated July 11, 2017

South Africans in Toronto

South African Population:
In Canada: 41,380
In the GTA: 11,950
In Toronto: 5,435

Primary Areas of Settlement in the GTA (Social Atlas):
Milton, Oakville, Mississauga, Vaughan, King, East Gwillimbury, Markham, Ajax, Richmond Hill, Aurora, and the City of Toronto (Ward 27 Toronto Centre-Rosedale).

South Africa's apartheid system (a discriminatory system of racial segregation) was finally repealed in 1991, largely due to international pressure. The country's first free national democratic elections took place in 1994. Although South Africa today faces problems such as economic inequality and the legacy of apartheid, its functioning democracy, and relative prosperity are a positive example for the rest of Africa to look to. Most South Africans identify as Christians, but there is an emphasis on pluralism in South America, so religious minorities are not marginalized. There is freedom of religion.

Explore Cultural Resources