Ecuador is found on the west coast of South America, between Colombia and Peru. Ecuador's capital city, Quito, is situated on the Andes mountain range. The Republic of Ecuador also includes the Galapagos Islands, which are 1,000 kilometres from the coast. The Galapagos Islands are well known for their land and marine animals, including unique birds and gigantic land tortoises. In fact, "Galapagos" is an ancient Spanish word meaning "tortoise".


Population: 16 million
Ethnic Groups: mestizo (mixed Amerindian and White) (71.9%), Montubio (7.4%), Amerindian (7%), White (6.1%), Afroecuadorian (4.3%), mulato (1.9%), Black (1%), Other (0.4%)
Languages: Spanish (Castilian) (Official) (93%), Quechua (4.1%), other Indigenous (0.7%), Foreign (2.2%)
Religions: Roman Catholic (74%), Evangelical (10.4%), Jehovah's Witness (1.2%), Other (6.4%), Atheist (7.9%), Agnostic (0.1%)
Capital: Quito
CIA: The World Factbook - Last Updated June 30, 2017

Ecuadorians in Toronto

Ecuadorian Population:
In Canada: 25,410
In the GTA: 17,930
In Toronto: 9,990

Primary Areas of Settlement in the GTA (Social Atlas):
City of Toronto (Ward 2 Etobicoke North, 7 York West, 11 & 12 York South-Weston, 17 Davenport), Vaughan, Northern part of Uxbridge, Brampton, and Oakville.

Ecuador became independent from Spain in 1830. Poverty is a major social problem and political stability is rare, even though Ecuador has been a democracy since 1979. The vast majority of Ecuador's population identifies as Christian, and most of them are Catholic. The Catholic faith has a strong influence on the culture; birth, marriage, and death are often marked by Catholic ceremonies and many towns celebrate Christmas with a festive parade. The freedom of religion exists in the Dominican Republic.

Settlement Services in the GTA

Churches in the GTA

Primera Iglesia Alianza Hispana
325 Weston Road, Unit 6b
Toronto, ON
M6N 4Z9
Phone: 416-630-7084

Explore Cultural Resources