Congo (DR)

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is located in central Africa. It is the third-largest country in the African continent. The equator passes right through Congo-DRC and in this part of the country, the temperature does not drop below 20 degrees Celsius.


Population: 81.3 million
Ethnic Groups: Over 200 African ethnic groups; Four Largest Tribes - Mongo, Luba, Kongo (all Bantu), and the Mangbetu-Azande (Hamitic) (45%)
Languages: French (Official), Lingala, Kingwana, Kikongo, Tshiluba
Religions: Roman Catholic (50%), Protestant (20%), Kimbanguist (10%), Muslim (10%), Other (10%)
Capital: Kinshasa
CIA: The World Factbook - Last Updated July 5, 2017

Congolese in Toronto

Congolese Population:
In Canada: 24,965
In the GTA: 3,335

Congo-DRC, formerly Zaire, is home to nearly 250 ethnolinguistic groups and numerous sub-groups. In 1972, President Mobutu (who gained power as a result of a military coup in 1965) decreed that only six organized religions were allowed to operate and own property, but there has been religious freedom since 1980. Today, the majority of the population identifies as Christian, but traditional beliefs are also prevalent. According to these traditional beliefs, life never ends (for example, people may offer ancestors a drink by pouring beer onto the ground.) These traditional animistic beliefs also hold that even inanimate objects have life and deserve respect.

Settlement Services in the GTA

Churches in the GTA

All Nations Full Gospel Church
4401 Steeles Avenue West
Toronto, ON
M3N 2S4
Phone: 416-665-9964

Explore Cultural Resources